Foyer / Overview

Foyer / Overview

Slide:

EINSTEIN LECTURES

21. May - 30. September 2005

Einstein's World Today

What worldview is science working on today, and what role does Einstein’s legacy play within it? And what is science anyway: a guarantee of progress, or the modern form of superstition? In any case, the consequences of Einstein’s work make apparent the long-term character of the development of knowledge. Not until decades later does the practical importance of many of his insights become clear, be it in the form of lasers or in satellite-based navigation.

Among the scientific challenges Einstein left behind is the search for gravitational waves, and for a unified theory of all forces of nature. Even today, borderline problems between the disciplines play a key role in scientific innovations, from biophysics to the question of the Big Bang.

More than ever, however, scientific questions are also questions for society at large. Which technologies should be our basis for generating energy? How can we prevent the proliferation of atomic weapons? Should scientific information be freely available in the Internet? Einstein’s legacy also includes the demand for a responsible, free, and democratic culture of knowledge.

[ Sitemap ] [ info ] This website was created with Virtual Spaces.

Foyer / Overview

Foyer / Overview

Slide:

EINSTEIN LECTURES

21. Mai - 30. September 2005

Einsteins Welt heute

An welchem Weltbild arbeitet die Wissenschaft heute und welche Rolle spielt Einsteins Erbe dabei? Was ist eigentlich Wissenschaft - Garant des Fortschritts oder moderne Form des Aberglaubens? Die Folgen von Einsteins Werk machen jedenfalls den langfristigen Charakter der Entwicklung des Wissens deutlich. Erst nach Jahrzehnten erweist sich die praktische Bedeutung einiger seiner Einsichten, vom Laser bis zur satellitengesteuerten Navigation.

Zu den wissenschaftlichen Herausforderungen, die Einstein hinterlassen hat, gehört die Suche nach Gravitationswellen ebenso wie die nach einer einheitlichen Theorie aller Naturkräfte. Auch heute noch spielen Probleme an den Grenzen zwischen den Disziplinen eine Schlüsselrolle für Innovationen, von der Biophysik bis zur Frage des Urknalls.

Wissenschaftliche Fragen sind allerdings mehr als je zuvor gesellschaftliche Fragen. Auf welche Technologien sollen wir zur Energieerzeugung setzen? Wie verhindert man die Verbreitung von Atomwaffen? Soll wissenschaftliche Information frei im Internet verfügbar sein? Zu Einsteins Erbe gehört auch die Forderung nach einer verantwortungsbewussten, freien und demokratischen Kultur des Wissens.

[ Sitemap ] [ info ] This website was created with Virtual Spaces.