Relativitaetstheorie: 1911-1914: Entwurftheorie

Relativitaetstheorie: 1911-1914: Entwurftheorie

The Completion of the Relativity Revolution

In accordance with Mach’s critique of Newton, Einstein has doubts about the concept of absolute space that leads to the privileged treatment of certain coordinate systems in classical physics. Only in these inertial systems do the physical laws always take on the same form. Einstein, however, demands general covariance, that is: the natural laws must be completely independent of the choice of coordinate system.

The Entwurf Theory is not generally covariant. Einstein accepts this reluctantly and finds an explanation, which he later realizes to be untenable. Another argument against the theory is the value calculated for the perihelion motion of the planet Mercury. It does not correspond with observations.

In fall 1915, Einstein thus returns to a generally covariant theory and, after several changes, publishes the General Theory of Relativity as we know it today. Immediately, Karl Schwarzschild manages to exactly calculate the gravitational field of the sun with this theory.

David Hilbert picks up on Einstein’s results in the fall of 1915 as well, and formulates on this basis his own theory of gravitation and electromagnetism.

[ Sitemap ] [ info ] This website was created with Virtual Spaces.

Relativitaetstheorie: 1911-1914: Entwurftheorie

Relativitaetstheorie: 1911-1914: Entwurftheorie

Die Vollendung der Relativitätsrevolution

In Übereinstimmung mit Machs Kritik an Newton zweifelt Einstein am absoluten Raum, der in der klassischen Physik zur Bevorzugung bestimmter Koordinatensysteme führt. Nur in diesen Inertialsystemen nehmen alle physikalischen Gesetze die gleiche Gestalt an. Einstein fordert dagegen, dass die Naturgesetze unabhängig von der Wahl des Koordinatensystems gelten - die so genannte allgemeine Kovarianz.

Die Entwurftheorie ist nicht allgemein kovariant. Einstein akzeptiert dies widerwillig und findet eine Begründung, die er später als unhaltbar erkennt. Gegen die Theorie spricht auch, dass der berechnete Wert für die Perihelbewegung des Merkur nicht mit den Beobachtungen überein stimmt.

Einstein kehrt daher im Herbst 1915 zu einer allgemein kovarianten Theorie zurück und publiziert nach mehreren Änderungen die Allgemeine Relativitätstheorie, wie wir sie heute kennen. Unmittelbar darauf gelingt es Schwarzschild, das Gravitationsfeld der Sonne damit exakt zu berechnen.

Ebenfalls im Herbst 1915 greift Hilbert Einsteins Ergebnisse auf, um eine eigene Theorie der Gravitation und des Elektromagnetismus zu formulieren.

[ Sitemap ] [ info ] This website was created with Virtual Spaces.