Mikrowelt: Nonlineare Diffusionsprozesse

Mikrowelt: Nonlineare Diffusionsprozesse

Harwell 1955 - Startpoint of International Cooperation
It appeared to become an unusual state visit, no doubt, but routine for the scientists of the British center for atomic research at Harwell: the visit of Chrustchev and Bulganin. This picture had radically changed by the evening of the 25th April of 1955.

In the wake of the politicians Kurchatov arrived, one of the fathers of the Soviet atomic bomb. His legendary talk at Harwell (Figure: title page of the manuscript following this lecture) rang in the international cooperation in the field of fusion research.

Of course, it was a political decision to liberate this branch of nuclear research from the strait-jacket of military secrecy. As it turned out, the time was ripe. The "atomic age" appeared to come closer, and at the UN conference "Atoms for Peace" in 1958 one did largely agree that it should be possible to master the use of nuclear fusion for electricity generation within about two decades.

[ Sitemap ] [ info ] This website was created with Virtual Spaces.

Mikrowelt: Nonlineare Diffusionsprozesse

Mikrowelt: Nonlineare Diffusionsprozesse

Harwell 1955 - Beginn der internationalen Kooperation
Es schien ein zwar nicht ganz üblicher Staatsbesuch zu werden, für die Wissenschaftler am britischen Atomforschungszentrum Harwell jedoch eher Routine: der Besuch von Chrustchov und Bulganin. Am Abend des 25. April 1955 hatte sich dieses Bild radikal verändert.

Im Gefolge der Politiker war Kurchatov, einer der Väter der sowjetischen Atombombe, angereist. Sein legendärer Vortrag in Harwell (Bild: Titelseite des Manuskripts nach diesem Vortrag) läutete die internationale Kooperation auf dem Gebiet der Fusionsforschung ein.

Natürlich war es eine politische Entscheidung, diese Richtung der Kernforschung von der Zwangsjacke militärischer Geheimhaltung zu befreien. Wie sich zeigte, war die Zeit reif. Das "Atomzeitalter" schien näher zu rücken, und auf der UN-Konferenz "Atoms for Peace" war man sich 1958 weitgehend einig, binnen etwa zwei Dekaden die Kernfusion zur Stromerzeugung zu beherrschen.

[ Sitemap ] [ info ] This website was created with Virtual Spaces.