Mikrowelt: Nonlineare Diffusionsprozesse

Mikrowelt: Nonlineare Diffusionsprozesse

SASE Principle of the Free Electron Laser (FEL)
Photons leak undisciplined through each crack, but they may also "laser" in a perfect harmony - thanks to induced emission found by Einstein in 1916: An electron bound within the atom is stimulated by a photon to emit another, identical photon.

A laser that rests upon free electrons (FEL) exploits as acceleration - that bears photons spontaneously - a slalom route enforced by magnets (figure). The emitted light ray may be amplified between two mirrors, as with the 'normal' laser.

The advantage: In the FEL the laser frequency can be continuously changed. The problem: There are no suitable mirrors for Roentgen light. The trick: Magnetic structure, velocity and wavelength are tuned in a way that the self-amplification builds up already en route - the 'electron disks' follow one another with precisely a light wavelength distance and do permanently emit further such photons ... SASE ("Self Amplified Spontaneous Emission") is a completely new laser principle.

[ Sitemap ] [ info ] This website was created with Virtual Spaces.

Mikrowelt: Nonlineare Diffusionsprozesse

Mikrowelt: Nonlineare Diffusionsprozesse

SASE-Prinzip des Freie-Elektronen-Lasers (FEL)
Photonen kriechen undiszipliniert durch jede Ritze, können aber auch in perfekter Harmonie "lasern" - dank der von Einstein 1916 gefundenen induzierten Emission: Ein im Atom gebundenes Elektron wird durch ein Photon stimuliert, ein weiteres, identisches Photon auszusenden.

Ein auf freien Elektronen beruhender Laser (FEL) nutzt als Beschleunigung - die Photonen spontan hervorbringt - einen durch Magnete erzwungenen Slalomkurs (Bild). Der ausgesandte Lichtstrahl kann wie beim 'normalen' Laser zwischen zwei Spiegeln verstärkt werden.

Der Vorteil: Beim FEL kann man die Laserfrequenz kontinierlich ändern. Das Problem: Für Röntgenlicht gibt es keine geeigneten Spiegel. Der Trick: Magnetstruktur, Geschwindigkeit und Wellenlänge werden so abgestimmt, dass sich die Selbstverstärkung bereits unterwegs aufbaut - die 'Elektronenscheiben' folgen einander mit genau einer Lichtwellenlänge Abstand und senden ständig weitere solche Photonen aus ... SASE (selbstverstärkte spontane Emission) ist ein völlig neues Laserprinzip.

[ Sitemap ] [ info ] This website was created with Virtual Spaces.