Astrophysik: Schwarze Loecher

Astrophysik: Schwarze Loecher

Black Holes
Spectacular - but no longer speculative

Black Holes presumably are the most spectacular objects, whose existence and properties are consequences of General Relativity. They constitute a region, in which space and time are distortet in such a way that matter and light after having passed a certain horizon are confined forever.

The possible existence of Black Holes was predicted by K. Schwarzschild as early as 1916. However up to the sixties it remained controversial whether physical conditions exist for allowing Black Holes in our universe. Since then advances in astrophysical observation methods and theoretical developments in General Relativity consolidated the physics of Black Holes, confirmed by astounding observations.

Astrophysics today essential deals with two variants of Black Holes. Stellar Black Holes - in a mass range of several solar masses - are the final state of massive stars which burn out with a supernova explosion. Supermassive Black Holes with more than a million solar masses were meanwhile identified in the center of our galaxy and in various other galaxies. The energy set free by matter attracted and swallowed into such a Black Hole is presumably due to the most energetic astrophysical phenomena like the jet-like eruptions of radio galaxies.

[ Sitemap ] [ info ] This website was created with Virtual Spaces.

Astrophysik: Schwarze Loecher

Astrophysik: Schwarze Loecher

Schwarze Löcher
Spektakulär - aber nicht mehr spekulativ

Schwarze Löcher sind die wohl spektakulärsten Objekte, deren Existenz und Eigenschaften aus der Allgemeinen Relativitätstheorie folgen. Sie stellen eine Region dar, in der Raum und Zeit derart verzerrt sind, dass Licht und Materie, haben sie einmal einen „Horizont“ überquert, nicht wieder entkommen können.

Die mögliche Existenz von Schwarzen Löchern wurde bereits 1916 von K. Schwarzschild vorausgesagt. Dennoch war bis in die sechziger Jahre umstritten, ob physikalische Bedingungen möglich sind, unter denen Schwarze Löcher tatsächlich in unserem Universum vorkommen. Fortschritte der Beobachtungsmethoden der Astrophysik und theoretische Entwicklungen auf dem Gebiet der Allgemeinen Relativitätstheorie konsolidierten ein Bild von Schwarzen Löchern, das durch vielfältige Beobachtungen gestützt wird.

Die heutige Astrophysik untersucht im wesentlichen zwei Varianten Schwarzer Löcher. Stellare Schwarze Löcher - einige Male so massereich wie unsere Sonne - sind das Endstadium massereicher Sterne, die ihr Leben in einer Supernova-Explosion beendet haben. Supermassive Schwarze Löcher mit mehr als der millionenfachen Sonnenmasse wurden mittlerweile im Zentrum unserer Galaxis und in etlichen weiteren Galaxien nachgewiesen. Die Energie, die beim Materieeinfall auf supermassive Löcher freigesetzt wird, ist nach heutigem Wissensstand verantwortlich für einige der energiereichsten astrophysikalischen Phänomene, etwa die jetartigen Eruptionen von Radiogalaxien.

[ Sitemap ] [ info ] This website was created with Virtual Spaces.