Schwerkraft und Traegheit / Hahntisch / internet Dialog

Schwerkraft und Traegheit / Hahntisch / internet Dialog

Philipp von Jolly (1809-1884)

Philipp Jolly (after 1854 Philipp von Jolly) studies mathematics and physics in Heidelberg und Vienna. In 1839, he becomes a professor in Heidelberg. From 1854 up to his death in 1884 he works as an ordinary professor of physics at the University of Munich. His scientific work is focused on experimental physics.

Jolly is one of the academic teachers of Max Planck. In 1874, he strongly discourages the young Max Planck to study physics. According to his opinion, everything has been explored already in physics. Only some unimportant gaps were still to be filled, for which it would not be worthwhile to study physics.

Based on Newton's theory of gravitation, Jolly determines the dependence of the gravitational force on the distance from the surface of the Earth as well as the density of the Earth. For this purpose, he invents a special balance.

[ Sitemap ] [ info ] This website was created with Virtual Spaces.

Schwerkraft und Traegheit / Hahntisch / internet Dialog

Schwerkraft und Traegheit / Hahntisch / internet Dialog

Philipp von Jolly (1809-1884)

Philipp Jolly (nach 1854 Philipp von Jolly) studiert Mathematik und Physik in Heidelberg und Wien. 1839 wird er Professor in Heidelberg. Von 1854 bis zu seinem Tod 1884 arbeitet er als ordentlicher Professor für Physik an der Universität München. Seine wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten konzentrieren sich auf die Experimentalphysik.

Jolly ist einer der akademischen Lehrer von Max Planck. Dem jungen Max Planck rät er 1874 dringend vom Studium der Physik ab. Seiner Ansicht nach sei in der Physik bereits alles erforscht. Nur einige unwichtige Lücken seien noch auszufüllen, die ein Physikstudium nicht lohnen würden.

Auf der Grundlage von Newtons Theorie der Schwerkraft bestimmt Jolly die Abhängigkeit der Schwerkraft vom Abstand von der Erdoberfläche sowie die Dichte der Erde. Zu diesem Zweck erfindet er eine spezielle Waage.

[ Sitemap ] [ info ] This website was created with Virtual Spaces.