Anwendungen

Anwendungen

Messengers on foot or horseback and carrier pigeons ...
... for long-distance transmission of news are replaced within the 19th century by public postal systems. For political and military needs there is a parallel development of long-distance telegraphy, initially by optical means.

With his pointer telegraph, which translates symbols into electrical pulses, Werner Siemens wins the contract in 1848 to build the telegraphy line Berlin-Frankfort on the Main, the headquarter of the German National Assembly. At the emperor election in 1849, the message reaches Berlin within one hour - a sensation!

At the end of the 1870th, the telephone enters into competition with the telegraph and eventually supersedes it, after the range of telephony is substantially increased by use of Michael Pupin's amplifying self-induction coils (Figure: Insertion of a Pupin coil near Baumgartenbrück; Siemens Archive).

[ Sitemap ] [ info ] This website was created with Virtual Spaces.

Anwendungen

Anwendungen

Boten zu Fuß oder Pferde und Brieftauben ...
... zur Fernübertragung von Nachrichten werden im 19. Jahrhundert durch öffentliche Postsysteme abgelöst. Aus politischen und militärischen Bedürfnissen entwickelt sich parallel die Ferntelegrafie, zunächst mit optischen Mitteln.

Mit dem Zeigertelegrafen, der Zeichen in elektrische Impulse übersetzt, gewinnt Werner Siemens 1848 den Auftrag für die Telegrafenlinie Berlin-Frankfurt am Main, dem Sitz der Deutschen Nationalversammlung. Zur Kaiserwahl 1849 ist die Nachricht innerhalb einer Stunde in Berlin - eine Sensation!

Ende der 1870er Jahre tritt das Telefon in Konkurrenz zum Telegrafen und verdrängt ihn schließlich, nachdem die Reichweite der Telefonie durch Michael Pupins verstärkende Selbstinduktions-Spulen (Bild: Einbringen einer Pupin-Spule bei Baumgartenbrück; Siemens Archiv) wesentlich erhöht wird.

[ Sitemap ] [ info ] This website was created with Virtual Spaces.