Anwendungen

Anwendungen

Edmond Alexandre Becquerel, ...
... father of the discoverer of spontaneous radioactivity, comes across in 1839 with the "inner" photo effect, where electrons freely move, like they do it in a conductor (i.e. a current may flow) - when illuminating the substance with the proper light. Such materials, like selenium or silicon, are coined "optical semiconductors".

A scant fifty years later, in 1886, Hertz discovers the "outer" photo effect where electrons are completely released from metal surfaces under illumination. He induces his student Hallwachs to experimentally explore the effect, that's why the phenomenon is sometimes called "Hallwachs effect". After Hertz' early death another of his former students, Lenard, takes up the theme and discovers contradictions to the generally accepted wave nature of light, which direct Einstein to formulate his light quantum hypothesis in 1905.

The energy of the electrons released only depends on the frequency, not on the intensity of the incoming light. This holds likewise for the inner photo effect. Einsteins explanation of the outer photo effect becomes thus an essential part of the theoretical basis of modern photovoltaics.

No doubt however, pioneer of this development is Becquerel.

[ Sitemap ] [ info ] This website was created with Virtual Spaces.

Anwendungen

Anwendungen

Edmond Alexandre Becquerel, ...
... der Vater des Entdeckers der spontanen Radioaktivität, findet 1839 den "inneren" Photoeffekt, bei dem sich Elektronen im Atomverband ähnlich frei bewegen wie in einem Leiter (also Strom fließen kann) - wenn die Substanz mit passendem Licht bestrahlt wird. Solche Materialien, wie Selen oder Silizium, nennt man "optische Halbleiter".

Knapp fünfzig Jahre später entdeckt Hertz 1886 den "äußeren" Photoeffekt, bei dem Elektronen aus Metall-Oberflächen unter Lichteinfluss völlig freigesetzt werden. Er lässt ihn von seinem Schüler Hallwachs experimentell erkunden, daher heißt das Phänomen auch manchmal "Hallwachs-Effekt". Nach Hertz' frühem Tod greift Lenard, ebenfalls Hertz-Schüler, das Thema auf und entdeckt Widersprüche zur allgemein akzeptierten Wellennatur des Lichts, die Einstein 1905 zur Lichtquantenhypothese führen.

Die Energie der freigesetzten Elektronen hängt nur von der Frequenz, nicht aber von der Intensität des einfallenden Lichts ab. Analoges gilt für den inneren Photoeffekt. Einsteins Erklärung des äußeren Photoeffekts trägt daher wesentlich bei zu den theoretischen Grundlagen moderner Photovoltaik.

Pionier dieser Entwicklung ist jedoch zweifellos Becquerel.

[ Sitemap ] [ info ] This website was created with Virtual Spaces.