Wissenschaft am Abgrund: Weltkrieg und Revolution

Wissenschaft am Abgrund: Weltkrieg und Revolution

Georg Friedrich Nicolai (1874–1964)

The physician Georg Friedrich Nicolai (1874-1964) comes from a middle-class Berlin Jewish family, but is baptized a Lutheran. He studies in Königsberg, Berlin, Paris, and Heidelberg and gains his doctorate in Leipzig in 1901. After that he works as a ships doctor for one year and is then an assistant in physiology in Halle, Berlin, Leyden, and St. Petersburg. He habilitates in 1907 and in 1909 becomes full professor and assistant medical director at the Second Medical Clinic of the Charité Hospital in Berlin. In 1910, together with his superior Friedrich Kraus, he publishes a fundamental textbook of electrocardiography. He is one of the physicians to the empress. From the outbreak of the World War I he works in a military hospital.

Nicolai condemns the war and is committed to a European cultural community. In October 1914 he writes the Appeal to the Europeans in response to the pamphlet To the Civilized World! Apart from Einstein the only other signatories he is able to acquire are the astronomer Wilhelm Foerster and the private scholar Otto Buek. He speeks out against the war in lectures and publishes the anti-war book The Biology of War in 1917. These activities bring him a court-martial and demotion in rank.

After the war he is prevented from resuming his teaching duties at the Charité, and in 1920 the university revokes his permission to lecture. For this reason he emigrates to Argentina in 1922, where he is welcomed as a great European. In 1936 he is appointed professor of physiology at the College of Veterinary Medicine in Santiago de Chile.

[ Sitemap ] [ info ] This website was created with Virtual Spaces.

Wissenschaft am Abgrund: Weltkrieg und Revolution

Wissenschaft am Abgrund: Weltkrieg und Revolution

Georg Friedrich Nicolai (1874–1964)

Der Mediziner Georg Friedrich Nicolai entstammt einer jüdischen Berliner Bürgerfamilie, wurde aber evangelisch getauft. Er studiert in Königsberg, Berlin, Paris und Heidelberg und promoviert 1901 in Leipzig. Danach arbeitet er ein Jahr als Schiffsarzt, ist dann physiologischer Assistent in Halle, Berlin, Leiden und St. Petersburg, habilitiert sich 1907 und ist seit 1909 Titularprofessor und Oberarzt an der II. Medizinischen Klinik der Berliner Charité. Mit seinem Chef Friedrich Kraus publiziert er 1910 ein grundlegendes Lehrbuch zur Elektrokardiographie. Er gehört auch zum Ärztekreis der Kaiserin. Seit Ausbruch des Ersten Weltkrieges arbeitet er in einem Lazarett.

Nicolai verurteilt den Krieg und bekennt sich zu einer europäischen Kulturgemeinschaft. Als Antwort auf das Pamphlet An die Kulturwelt! verfasst er im Oktober 1914 den Aufruf an die Europäer, gewinnt aber zur Unterzeichnung neben Einstein nur noch den Astronomen Wilhelm Foerster und den Privatgelehrten Otto Buek. In Vorlesungen tritt er als Kriegsgegner hervor, 1917 erscheint sein Anti-Kriegsbuch Die Biologie des Krieges; diese Aktivitäten bringen ihm einen Kriegsgerichtsprozess und die Degradierung ein.

Nach dem Kriege wird er an der Wiederaufnahme seiner Lehrtätigkeit an der Charité gehindert; die Universität erkennt ihm noch 1920 die venia legendi ab. Er wandert deshalb 1922 nach Argentinien aus, wo er als großer Europäer empfangen wird. 1936 wird er Professor für Physiologie an der Tierärztlichen Hochschule in Santiago de Chile.

[ Sitemap ] [ info ] This website was created with Virtual Spaces.